The D Channel


the bicycle source returns!
October 22, 2011, 12:32 AM
Filed under: fixed gear/singlespeed/bikes, misc, Uncategorized

back in the 80s, when i was growing up, i had a lot of cool little hobbies that kept me busy and stopped me from driving everyone crazy. one particular thing i loved doing aside from building things with LEGO or riding my skateboards, was riding my bike – and ive owned many in my time, let me tell you. from my red schwinn tricycle, to my current FELT Brougham fixie/singlespeed, ive grown up with a passion for wheeled transport. i learned to ride on 2 wheels on a schwinn 20 in. cruiser, which then got replaced with a REDLINE 500b – which my mom surprised me with for xmas back in ’85… which eventually got replaced by a TREK 1000 roadbike that i got because of the rising popularity of lance armstrong and the tour de france in the early 90s… once i got tired of riding on-road and fearing that i would get hit by a car (again), i turned to the hills of rancho palos verdes CA and began riding technical singletrack trails – initially, with a TREK 2300 hardtail bike, and eventually graduating to a KONA stinky full suspension bike…. like i said, ive owned a few in my time. luckily, im still young enough to remember them all. since having moved away from the socal beach area and my favorite place to ride offroad, i ended up selling the KONA and got into the whole hipster-ish trend of fixed gear/singlespeed bikes with my current steed, a FELT Brougham, which ive modded a bit, like i do with most anything i have – mainly to personalize it, and make it “mine”.

however, thats not the point of this post… what’s important to note is that in the 80s, a famous socal bike shop known as THE BICYCLE SOURCE catered to many bmx fans then, and it closed down back in the 90s or so. during its prime, all the famous bmx riders went there… and since i grew up on BMX, ive always wanted to go there – to hang out, to talk to the pros, to get my own bike worked on… ‘cos the shop was cool. reading magazines like BMX Plus! and BMX Action, i wanted a high end bmx bike back then, but we couldnt afford one. the REDLINE was as close to high end as i could get, without being too exotic. its kinda like getting a topline honda today, just before stepping into acura price territory. i was thankful that it was at least, a famous brand that had a good reputation in bmx racing and bmx freestyle.

fast forward to today…. THE BICYCLE SOURCE is back! and its about time that i got back into riding a bike again. this time, im going there. maybe on a bike. check it out:

Comments Off on the bicycle source returns!





Comments are closed.



